I don’t like to be labeled as ‘racist’ through this entry, but as what I have noticed as I worked with them for more than two years… I must say that some or even most NIGERIAN carers are MEAN, UNFAIR and IRONIC.

I thought I wasn’t just me who notice that some of them aren’t that nice but these opinions shows they agree with me. 😀

Those who were bestowed the profession to provide care to those people in desperate need of it must possess attributes of approachable, angelic, resilient, and above all caring to all sorts of clientele.

Moreover, they should also be a team player by putting into consideration also the interest of the people he or she is working with.

I really need to vent this out so that I could release my disappointment whenever I get to work with them. I am a very patient person and I don’t want to make a scene one day if they get to abuse my kindness. So might as well to channel my vexation in the form of writing since people didn’t even read this. So here are the instances why I describe them as MEAN, UNFAIR and IRONIC. 😀

MEAN. When I first started working with one of them, instead of being pleasantly guiding me to the dos and don’ts of our work. Rose (not her real name) just nagged every time she explains everything. That’s why her face looks awful on the grounds that she’s not even have time to smile as a result of how stressed she is to her work and I might consider that she didn’t even love what she was doing. She raises her voice every time she points out something even if it is even out of the point and unreasonable. In some case like what recently happened to me with Grace (not her real name), when I told her that we bathe most of our patients in favor to her, she didn’t even thank us for doing that. She’s just so arrogant that she said with conviction that, ‘It’s your job.’ I just get offended and I thought the act would cheer her up due to the fact that it would lessen their work, but she was just so MEAN and it hurt my feelings. Sad to say every time she work, she didn’t even do her job well the mere fact that she had a lot of pending things to be done.  I think forbearance and gratefulness is not her cup of tea.

UNFAIR. I remember that when I first make my assignment. It was well balanced, properly distributed and most importantly, very fair. To my dismay to her when Liv (not her real name) approached me that why she had bad assignment and told me with conviction that I don’t know how to be in-charge. Same thing happened to me with Rose. So to make the story short, I change the assignment favored them to have lighter loads that made me carry the heavier ones which is really not fair. Eleonor Roosevelt is not proud for I just gave those two the consent to make me inferior. Tsk-tsk.

IRONIC. ‘Together we can do it.’, Rose always said. But here’s the twist, she do the opposite. In the caring business, teamwork is really essential to make the work more easier. The funny thing is when situations needs mindfulness to help colleagues in some task, most of the time, she’s missing in action. The audacity to proudly said those clichés when she’s not even doing it herself is just ridiculous.

Though it seems like that I humblebrag by saying I am the most patient person by tolerating this kind of attitude, but I had this thought that at times, I should give them a dose of their own medicine so they will ponder these MEAN, UNFAIR and IRONIC traits would change their perspective by stepping to the lighter and more amiable working environment. Let’s see if the patience meter goes to the critical level to trigger that button. 😀