Dengue… an infectious tropical disease caused by the dengue virus. Typical symptoms include fever, headache, a characteristic skin rash, and muscle and joint pains; in a small proportion the disease progresses to life-threatening complications such as dengue hemorrhagic fever (which may lead to severe hemorrhage) and dengue shock syndrome (where a very low blood pressure can cause organ dysfunction). That’s what hit my brother, Dengue Hemorrhagic Fever, Stage 2 incoming Stage 3 (I think?) – For more info click the linked word ‘Dengue’.

Slumbering Bastard

On the time he was sick, before he was diagnose with DHF, he was experiencing a high fever, with body temperature of 38oC or 39oC alternately. And me, as the only member of the family with a medical background, I instruct him to drink paracetamol every 4 hours advice my mom to sponge bath him to lower down the temp. Monitoring from time to time, he improves little by little as based on his mercurial thermometer reading. But on the 2nd or 3rd (I think?) I notice that a simple remedy for a simple fever didn’t work out on the way I expected, as it was manifested by his fluctuating body temperature from high to low vice versa, and thinking that it was a rainy season on this month and having inspected him with rashes-like pigments on his back (thanks to my mom as she notice it. HaHa.), I suggest mom to undergo my brother a CBC-Platelet test to confirm the occurrence of DHF.

Being the youngest and the pain-in-the-ass in the family, he insisted not to be tested but eventually decided to seek medical help. But the clamor just didn’t up there and thanks to my mom being the understanding shock absorber, brother ended up being hospitalized as the labs confirmed the presence of DHF in his system.

Flowy Maple curtain
Comfy Maple Sigthings

So we were stuck in a hospital for 3 days (I think?) and on that short span of time, I met my former co-leagues in Tala which were on that same hospital where my brother was admitted having their clinical internship. And I feel the concern of some of my relatives who were nice to my family, this were the times where you know who are you’re real friends when you’re in times of troubles. 🙂

On that limited time I saw my brother suffer a bit and nasty (the usual way.). I saw his face horrified on the tiny ooze of blood on his IV tubing. I assured him that it was okey and it will move back on the veins with the aid of the IVF fluid but he still wants me to call the nurse to flush the blood back. Haay!

Interestingly, I learned that he has a nice and supported girlfriend who was there to look for him when mom get to find a blood that will be transfuse on him.

Never thought this door looks depressing

Felt a bit tensed when I witnessed how a relative was a bit furious on a volunteer nurse but I’m so proud to that nurse that he remains calm and humbled. The right attitude indeed, very professional. 🙂

HALLELUJAH TO THE LORD when the doctor discharged him as his platelets progressed fast and he is recovering fast. And as a way of showing appreciation for the help we received, mom treat my relatives with a two family size pizza on the day of his discharged.

Man of the Store, Wax

Hope that he learns something on that crisis, that as the world gone bad and is against on his way, he will ended up falling back to his family who will be there to comfort and boost his ego enough to start over again. Did he even realized that? Haay. (sighing…)

